Legendary Roleplaying!

Greetings Nerdlings! I’ve been silent for a while, and there’s a good reason for it. I’ve been busy working on something new!

The time has finally come – after nearly 20 years of Dungeon Mastering and game design, I have decided to release my Roleplaying System to the world! All of you know that I’ve got a lot of opinions about the “best way” to roleplay and Dungeon Master. I’ve complained plenty about rules from other systems (and entire editions of D&D in general). And now I’ve done something about it. Put my foot where my mouth is, or something. And now, born of all my whining and complaining, is the “Legendary Roleplaying” System!

It’s currently available on DrivethruRPG for a big discount! You can also find my fantasy-based Campaign Setting, called “Legends of Annwyn” and a monster manual: “Monsters of Annwyn.

Legendary Roleplaying” utilizes a familiar d20 mechanic, but offers a much more streamlined, deadly, and fast-paced Combat style, as well as an extremely flexible (and class-less) Character Creation and Advancement ruleset. It focuses on ROLE-playing, because let’s face it – we all know I like playing pretend more than anything else.

It has 3 unique mechanics of my own devising, which support a rules-based focus on roleplaying, storytelling, and collaboration between Players and DM. The first is the Fate Die, which is a single die that accompanies every roll a Player and DM make, and helps sew unexpected chaos into the game. It could be good, it could be bad, but it’s always good fun!

The second is Motivation, which functions much like Alignment, except way better. It uses personal drives, goals and desires instead of dualistic morality to represent a Character’s personality. And it allows for real in-game consequences and rewards for good (or bad) roleplaying. The most significant of these effects allows Players to essentially take on the role of the DM for a brief moment.

Finally, the last of these mechanics is Morale, which tracks the general well-being of the Player Characters and impacts both the Fate Die and effects from Motivation.

The main goal with this system was to create a game that me and my Players enjoyed playing, and I accomplished that. It might not be for everyone, and it certainly doesn’t do everything well, but it’s the game we wanted, and its the only game we play now. If you enjoy collaboration, improvisation and roleplaying, but want enough rules to make Combat interesting, and still feel like you’re gaming, “Legendary Roleplaying” is just what you need!

Thanks for all of the years of support, and I hope you enjoy your adventures in my game!

Love and Dice,

The DM

This entry was posted in DM Advice, Dungeons & Dragons, Fantasy, Geek Culture, General Roleplaying, Homebrewing, Player Advice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment