Roller Derby Names for Roleplayers

Even though I’m on vacation I thought I would post a blog this week, as the question is a fun one that won’t take up a whole lot of time:

Dear Dungeon Master,
What are some great Roller Derby names having to do with D&D?

Being that my wife plays Roller Derby for the Rocky Mountain Rollergirls (go RMRG!), Roller Derby names are something I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about.  This was not always because I was trying to help anyone think of names, it’s just a weird side effect of being involved in the Roller Derby community – you can’t seem to stop trying to come up with clever names.  Or maybe that’s just me.

Unfortunately, D&D names aren’t something most Derby girls would give a crap about, so this will be new territory for me, but territory I’m all too happy to explore.  Anyone who isn’t familiar with Derby, names are often plays on words, phrases and people, usually with a violent or sexy twist, or a double meaning.  Some examples are:

Vulva Display of Power
Psycho Babble
Bonnie Thunders
Amanda Jamitinya

So, with that in mind, here’s what I came up with for D&D inspired Derby names:

Awful Good
Brooke of Vile Darkness
Psychosahedron (An Icosahedron is a 20-sided die for anyone that’s not as big of a nerd as me.  I think this one is my favorite.  Number: 1d20)
Dungeon Masher
Random Encounter
(This one I thought was great without changing it any)
Baldur’s Hate
Magic Abuser

Fingerbang of Death
Murderer of the Planes

Scary Gygax (Number: 1974)
Clit Fiend
(Number: 669)
Heatherwinter Fights
Eye of the Beholder
Bludgeon Your Dragon
Maggie Missile (Number: 1d4+1)

And that’s what I got for you.  If any hardcore D&D Derby girls want to actually use one of these names, that would be awesome.

Anyone have some other names to add to this list?

-The Dungeon Master

Please submit more questions! 

If you wish to submit a question to the Dungeon Master, please e-mail them to dungeonmastermind@gmail.com, or you can Tweet me a question @AskthedDM. And make sure to review the disclaimer.

You can also see me in action in One Die Short.

This entry was posted in Dungeons & Dragons, Geek Culture, General Roleplaying, Roller Derby and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Roller Derby Names for Roleplayers

  1. Laura says:

    Thanks for this blog! I am really having a hard time coming up with my Deby name. I wanted to use dragon in it somehow and have my number be D20 so I went on a hunt and this is what I came across 🙂 I’m digging the Maggie Missle!!! Now I shall check the two eviles website to see if anything like that is taken.

  2. Bad ass. I always wanted to do roller derby, but am too much of a wuss (especially since I hurt my knee during a frickin’ trapeze lesson, of all things). I probably wouldn’t last one practice. Kudos to your wife for being awesome.

  3. Grace says:

    Haha, I’m enjoying having time on vacation to finally start paying more attention to my blog…

    Excellent roller derby names!

Leave a comment